Capital Cup Wrap-Up!

May 2, 2011

Bam! What a day – Sunny warm and lots of water created perfect conditions for this years Level Six Capital Cup.

Congratulations to all 54 competitors for a great showing. The paddlers are getting more and more talented each year especially from the likes of 13 year old Emily Zanenburg from Cornwall in the junior pro womens class – right through to the reigning world Champion Emily Jackson ( USA ) who won the Women’s Pro class, edging out Louise Irwin New Zealand and Annie Pier Marchand from Canada .  A tightly contested men’s pro class did not disappoint the crowd and on lookers. 27 of arguably the best freestyle paddlers in the world took to the stage, and cheered each other on. Although friendly high fives and best wishes went from one paddler to the another, they were all there to win and give the best showing they could. This years Capital Cup King went to a relative new comer Adam Chappell from Ottawa, beating out Ottawa Valley native and reigning world Champion Nick Troutman who took second place. Casper Van Kolmthout of the Netherlands Taking 3rd. Check out the full results below.

Thanks to all for making it the best Level Six Capital Cup in history!

Stay tuned for next years 10th Anniversary Level Six Capital Cup.

For thousands of pictures taken of the event please visit

[gallery link="file" orderby="title"]

Men’s Pro

Adam Chappell 1

Nick Troutman 2

Casper Van Kolmthout 3

Francois Bergeron Proulx 4

Rush Sturges 5

Tyler Curtis 6

Joel Kowalski 7

Keegan Grady 8

Dane Jackson 9

Devyn Scott 10

Zack Boles 10

James Beddington12

Ryan Whetung 13

Alex Perrett 14

Brandon Fasan 15

Kyle Hull 16

Paul Danks (C1) 17

Logan Grayling 18

Ben Marr 19

Johnny Meyers 20

Evan Garcia 21

Marcos Gallegos 22

Matt Hamilton 23

Tyler Fox 24

Tom Harding 25

Jamie Pope (C1) 26

John Rathwell 27

Pro Women’s

1. Emily Jackson

2. Louise Irwin

3. Annie Pier Marchand

4. Brenna Kelly

5. Katie Kowalski

6. Michelle Clifford

7. Cheryl Mcgregor

8. Alex Shalhorn

Open Men

1.  Christian Foster

2. Cameron Smedley

3. Marcus Audette

4. Dave Earl

5. Kyle Vandeemter

6. Jared Evans

Open Women

1.  Alison Smedley


1. Robert Zanenburg

2. John Burrows

3. Frank Scott

Pro Junior Boys

1.  Zachary Zanenburg

2. Joel Brennan

3. Cooper Lemkay

4. Sebastien Racine

Pro Junior Girls

1.  Emily Zwaneburg

2. Sara Daub

Open Junior

1. Liam Smedley

2. Sean Hakvart

Share this